can you train your emotions?Can you make yourself cry right now?

Cry.

Right now.

OK, now wipe your eyes and keep reading. What? You didn’t really cry? Why not?

What if I told you that if you turned your camera on right now and cried you would instantly win $1,000,000.00? Would you be able to cry for that?

The above conversation is one of two things that I remember the most from my first interaction with Barbra Schulte. She was a guest speaker at the University of Findlay when I was a student and she was teaching us about our emotions. Her point when she asked us about crying was to get us thinking about what it would take to call up an emotion. You have probably already figured out that if you wanted to cry you would first remember something that made you cry in the past. Then you could choose to harness that emotion. Could you do that with other emotions?

I said there were two things I remembered about Barbra’s talk. One was the example of ‘can you cry’ and the other was a tip she gave: train your body to respond in a certain way. The example she gave was that people often get nervous when they head into the show pen. What if you could touch your thumb and your middle finger together and feel relaxed? She suggested teaching our bodies during times of no stress (when you’re going to sleep, etc) that touching the fingers together was associated with relaxation, deep breathing, and clear thoughts.

I used that tip for many years when I was showing…and I still use it at times today. In reality I use versions of the tip every single time I show. Do you remember watching the ‘Live Like You Were Dyin’ video? Remember how I was running my fingers through Roxy’s mane? Yep, I was using that tip even then.

If you are interested in learning more about this way of thinking, join me tonight on the web where I will be interviewing Barbra on the topic of Overcoming Fear. It is a live event where you can type in questions in real time for us to answer. Here is the link to the event landing page: http://InstantTeleseminar.com/?eventid=68616228 Feel free to click on it now to get comfortable with how easy it is to join in. Who knows…maybe you will get one tip that will make a huge difference for you.

Tonight. 9:00 PM Eastern time, 8:00 PM Central, 7:00 PM Mountain, 6:00 PM Pacific